Faculty Profile

Department of Physics

Sanctioned Strength: 84

About the Department

The Department of Physics was established in the year 2003 to promote quality education in the domain of Physical Science. It offers Under Graduate as well as Post Graduate courses with insight into theoretical and practical aspects. The curriculum is designed towards imparting quality education through which student can solve scientific challenges. Moreover, UG and PG laboratories are well equipped for developing the practical skills of students. The faculty members of the Department are actively involved in many advanced areas of research namely nanoscience, nonlinear dynamics, molecular quantum mechanics, computational physics, optics, crystal growth and biomaterials. The Department offers a series of guest lectures to nurture research knowledge among the students. The department has an association “Einstein’s Hub” for exploring the innovations of student’s co-curricular skills. It becomes an effective facilitator for transferring knowledge of high quality to the students.


‣ To nurture the young minds with unique proficiency in Physics to meet the global challenges.


  • To offer quality education in Physics by providing scientific inquiry and innovation.
  • To kindle research interest by providing an excellent scientific ambience

Research Activities

  • Faculty members are actively involved in research. The major areas of research are Nanoscience, Nonlinear dynamics, Computational Physics and Crystal Growth.


Candidates seeking admission to first year of the Bachelor of Science – Physics shall be required to have passed the Higher secondary examination with Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry conducted by the Government of Tamil Nadu or an examination accepted as equivalent there to by the Syndicate subject to the conditions as may be prescribed there to are permitted to appear and qualify for B.Sc., (Physics) degree examination of Periyar University after a course of study of three academic years.



Add-on Courses (UG)

  • ‣ Fundamentals of Astrophysics (SEM III)
  • ‣ Astronomical Techniques (SEM IV)